Fall Champions of Character and Scholar-Athletes Announced

Fall Champions of Character and Scholar-Athletes Announced

(Ann Arbor, MI) - Over the past couple of weeks the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) and the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) have announced the Champions of Character awardees for each Fall 2022 sport as well as the Scholar-Athletes. 


Throughout the six fall sports the Cardinals would see 17 athletes be named to the WHAC Scholar-Athlete teams, with 26 being named to the NCCAA Scholar-Athlete team.


The WHAC Scholar-Athlete team's qualifications were a junior in academic standing and a cumulative GPA of 3.25. (Men's & Women's Golf is a Spring Sport for WHAC)


The NCCAA qualifications for Scholar athletes were for a junior or above in academic standing, while maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.40. (Men's & Women's Golf is a Fall Sport for NCCAA)


The Champions of Character were chosen for their commitment to the five core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership.


Men's Cross Country

Three members of the men's team qualified for the WHAC All-Academic team as Theodore Eising, Avery Sanchez, and Noah Starkey were honored. 


Noah Starkey hit the qualifications for the NCCAA Scholar-Athlete. 


The team Champion of Character nomination for the WHAC was Noah Finley.


Women's Cross Country

Madelyn Ankoviak would be the team's nominee for Champions of Character.



Eight Football players would hit the NCCAA mark for Scholar Athlete as those players were James Carpenter, Will Dowling, Heath Flower, Colby Kohmescher, Jake Mlynarek, Nick Painter, Casey Ruach, Jaden Vizina, and Andrew Weimer. 


The MSFA Scholar Athlete awards will be announced in early 2023. 


Men's Golf

Two Men's golfers were named as NCCAA Scholar-Athletes as Andrew Burk and Travis Lysiak would hit the qualifications. 


The WHAC Scholar Athletes and Champions of Character awards will be announced following the Spring 2023 Season. 


Men's Soccer

Two players from the team received Scholar-Athlete honors with Caleb Comstock and Luke Neuhaus being honored.


Three players from the Men's Soccer team qualified for the NCCAA Scholar-Athlete team as Caleb Comstock, Luke Neuhaus, and Brody Smith received the award.


Comstock would also be named to the WHAC's Champions of Character team.


Women's Soccer

Eight players from the team received Scholar-Athlete honors with Danielle Bracken, Halle Kallsen, Gabrielle Kelel, Kendra Lewis, Samantha Pomponio, Samantha Putnam, Megan Starkey, and Isabel Stropich being honored.


All eight of those Cardinals would also be named to the NCCAA Scholar-Athlete team as well.


The team's Champions of Character nomination was Kiera Savage.



Four members of the volleyball team were named Scholar-Athletes as Abigail Austin, Madalyn Lisman, Kayla Peters, and McKenzie Peters were named as such.


These four Cardinals would receive NCCAA Scholar-Athlete team honors as well. 


Megan Neuman would be honored as the team's Champions of Character nomination, while Head Coach Danielle Cook was named as the WHAC's Champions of Character Coach.